Alice Sara Ott, London Symphony Orchestra & Pappano

— ‘Thus spoke Zarathustra’ by Strauss


Alice Sara Ott, piano
London Symphony Orchestra
Antonio Pappano, conductor


H. Kendall: O flower of fire (Work commissioned by the LSO)
F. Liszt: Totentanz
R. Strauss: Thus spoke Zaratustra


The London Symphony Orchestra makes an appearance in the Palau 100 concert series once again, under the baton of Antonio Pappano, its new principal conductor, and with a truly unmissable programme. Firstly, the orchestra will perform a piece by British composer Hannah Kendall (1984), commissioned by the orchestra itself and premièred on this international tour. Secondly, German-Japanese pianist Alice Sara Ott and the orchestra will perform Franz Liszt's Totentanz, an outstanding work based on stylistic innovations to the Gregorian melody Dies irae. Finally, the evening’s main event will be a performance of the tone poem Thus Spoke  Zarathustra by Richard Strauss, whose first movement is doubtless seared into the minds of cinema fans thanks to the scene of the dawn of man in the legendary film 2001: A Space Odyssey by Stanley Kubrick (1968).

Prepárate para el concierto

Discover the details of the featured work in this concert: Richard Strauss's Thus Spoke Zarathustra, with an innovative audiovisual format and a unique aesthetic.


Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 26 October 2023
    20:00 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices:De 35 a 175 euros
Organized by:Fund.Orfeó Català-Palau de la Música
With support from:

Ticket Office

C/ Palau de la Música, 4-6
08003 Barcelona
T. 932 957 207
[email protected]

Monday to: from 9 am to 9 pm.
Saturdays: from 9.30 am to 9 pm.
Sunday and public holidays: from 9.30 am to 1 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for sale day).

Alice Sara Ott, London Symphony Orchestra & Pappano