The last breath of Max Bruch
Camerata Penedès and Bambú Ensemble


20221001 web Ultim ale de max bruch camerata penedes V2


Camerata Penedès, string orchestra
Bambú Ensemble, string octet


J. MARTÍNEZ CAMPOS, Serenade for strings. String orchestra version
M. BRUCH, Octet for strings in B-flat Major, opus pòstum. String orchestra version
F. MENDELSSOHN, Symphony number 10 in B-flat minor for strings


Camerata Penedès collaborates with Bambú Ensemble, made up of members from different orchestras in Europe. Together, they will perform Max Bruch's String Octet in its orchestral version, Felix Mendelssohn's Symphony number 10 for strings and the String Serenade by the Valencian composer Javi Martínez Campos (1989), dedicated and premiered by the Bambú Ensemble itself.

We will open the concert with Mendelssohn's Youth Symphony, followed by the work of Martínez Campos, who seeks the perfect symbiosis between the eight different voices and manages to articulate the sound mass in a single instrument. Finally, the Octet for Strings in B flat major op. post. by Max Bruch will take us in the last days of the composer's life in which he bids farewell to the earthly world with melodies as beautiful and nostalgic as they are painful.

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 1 October 2022
    12:00 h
    Petit Palau

Production information

Prices:15 euros
Organized by:Camerata Penedès

Other ways to purchase your tickets:


T. 932 957 207

Ticket Office

[email protected]
c/ Palau de la Música, 4-6, 08003 Barcelona

  • Monday to: from 9 am to 9 pm.
  • Saturdays: from 9.30 am to 9 pm.
  • Sunday and public holidays: from 9.30 am to 1 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for sale day).