COVID-19. Security protocol and preventive measures. MORE INFO

Pires, Gulbenkian Symphony Orchestra & Castro
—Piano Concerto no. 2 by Chopin


20201222 Maria João Pires


Maria João Pires, piano 
Gulbenkian Symphony Orchestra
Ricardo Castro, conductor


P. Amaral: Deux portraits imaginaires
F. Chopin: Piano Concerto no. 2, in F minor, op. 21
C. Debussy: La Mer


Due to problems with travel restrictions, motivated by Covid, the director for the entire European tour will be Ricardo Castro instead of Tatsuya Shimono.

The legendary pianist Maria João Pires returns to the Palau 100 concert series at the Palau de la Música Catalana with Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2, accompanied by the Gulbenkian Orchestra under the baton of director Ricardo Castro. The programme is rounded off with a contemporary chamber piece, Deux portraits imaginaires, which was commissioned from Portuguese composer Pedro Amaral by Casa da Musica in 2013, and La mer by Debussy, which the composer described as “three symphonic sketches”. 

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 15 February 2022
    20:00 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices:from 35 to 125 €
Organized by:Fund.Orfeó Català-Palau de la Música
With support from:

Other ways to purchase your tickets:


T. 932 957 207. Telephone service: Monday to Saturday, from 10 am to 2 pm and from 4.30 pm to 8.30 pm. 

Ticket Office

[email protected]
c/ Palau de la Música, 4-6, 08003 Barcelona

  • Monday to Saturday: from 10 am to 2 pm and from 4.30 pm to 8.30 pm.
  • Sunday and public holidays: from 10 am to 1 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for sale day).