Pires, Gulbenkian Orchestra & Castro
—Piano Concerto no. 2 by Chopin


20201222 Maria João Pires


Maria João Pires, piano 
Gulbenkian Orchestra
Ricardo Castro, conductor


P. Amaral: Deux portraits imaginaires
F. Chopin: Piano Concerto no. 2, in F minor, op. 21
C. Debussy: La Mer


The legendary pianist Maria João Pires returns to the Palau 100 concert series at the Palau de la Música Catalana with Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 2, accompanied by the Gulbenkian Orchestra under the baton of director Ricardo Castro. The programme is rounded off with a contemporary chamber piece, Deux portraits imaginaires, which was commissioned from Portuguese composer Pedro Amaral by Casa da Musica in 2013, and La mer by Debussy, which the composer described as “three symphonic sketches”. 

Musical perspectives, by Ana María Dávila

Due to problems with travel restrictions, motivated by Covid, the director for the entire European tour will be Ricardo Castro instead of Tatsuya Shimono.

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 15 February 2022
    20:00 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices:from 35 to 125 €
Approximate:90 minutes (aprox) - With a 20 minute break
Organized by:Fund.Orfeó Català-Palau de la Música
With support from:


Other ways to purchase your tickets:


T. 932 957 207

Ticket Office

[email protected]
c/ Palau de la Música, 4-6, 08003 Barcelona

  • Monday to Friday: from 9 am to 9 pm.
  • Saturday: from 9.30 amb to 9 pm.
  • Sunday and public holidays: from 9.30 am to 2 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for sale day).


Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017