COVID-19. Security protocol and preventive measures. MORE INFO

We use cookies to study and improve the user experience offered by the site. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our cookie policy.

Mark Padmore & OCM
The Fifth of Shostakovich


MarkPadmoreOCM-concert 16-2-20


Mark Padmore, tenor
Pablo Hernández, horn
Orquestra Simfònica Camera Musicae
Tomàs Grau, conductor


B. BRITTEN: Serenade for tenor, horn and orchestra, op. 31
D. XOSTAKÓVITX: Symphony no. 5


Read between lines

Britten chose six poems from very different eras and styles - spanning the 15th to the 19th centuries - to make up this work and he 6 had the help of the critic Edward Sackville-West to do so. The content of the texts that deal with the sunset, the feeling of peace, and peaceful death, goes hand-in-hand with a musical form, the serenade, which has its origin in a kind of calm, "serene" piece that was interpreted At dusk. Among the many contributions that Britten made to the musical composition, especially in his native country, here we find a great melodic imagination, as well as a lot of sharpness in the variety of timbre effects achieved with the horn.

Shostakovich also showed great ingenuity in getting his Fifth Symphony to the liking of the same regime that in his previous work had accused, denounced and censored. With this composition he responded to what was expected of a composer of socialist realism: to explain that contemporary life was a drama and that Stalin's regime was salvation, as well as to write with clear musical structures and to finish triumphantly. But he did not renounce what he expected of himself: criticize the figure of the dictator and present a rich, imaginative and modern music.

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 16 February 2020
    17:30 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices:39 €
Organized by:Orquestra Simfònica Camera Musicae