Lobgesang by Mendelssohn
—Franz Schubert Filharmonia


lobgesang FSF


Ulrike Haller, soprano
Mar Jordana, soprano
Roger Padullés, tenor
Coral Càrmina
Franz Schubert Filharmonia
Daniel Mestre, conductor


B. Vivancos: commissioned work (absolute premiere)
F. Mendelssohn: Symphony no. 2, op. 52, “Lobgesang”


Symphonic-choral monument

Mendelssohn was a child prodigy who grew up in a well-to-do family. He was given every encouragement to become a great musician and took full advantage of the opportunities available to him. The fact that he had such an “easy life” led to his being criticised at times for having composed “shallow” and “superficial” music when in fact the greatest qualities of his music are its optimism and vitality. His Symphony No. 2 “Lobgesang” (“Hymn of praise”) is perhaps the finest example of his idiom, a composition overflowing with intensity and joy, but also profundity and commitment. He wrote the symphony to commemorate the 400th anniversary of the invention of the printing press and conceived it as a cantata on texts from the Gutenberg Bible. The result is a spectacular work that combines triumphal and meditative moments, drama and subtlety, symphonic grandeur and a cappella voices. The first part of the concert will feature the world premiere of the latest work by Catalan composer Bernat Vivancos, who is widely acknowledged as one of today’s most masterful writers of vocal music, and whose personal language speaks so eloquently to contemporary audiences.

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 21 May 2023
    17:30 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices:from 20 to 56 €
Organized by:Franz Schubert Filharmonia