COVID-19. Security protocol and preventive measures. MORE INFO

Faust, Queyras, Widmann & Aimard
Quartet for the end of times by Messiaen



Note (04/27/2020): Due to the extraordinary measures imposed by the state authorities in containing the virus COVID-19, the Palau de la Música Catalana is forced to close its doors and postpone/cancel upcoming concerts and activities until further notice.

Due to the unavailability to find a new date, therefore this concert has been cancelled.

Attention: People who have bought tickets and wish to get a refund or exchange them for another concert of the Foundation, should contact the box office by email at [email protected]

The requests for refund or exchange will be handled as soon as possible. We appreciate your understanding and apologize for any inconvenience caused.


Extraordinary Concert

Faust, Queyras, Widmann & Aimard


Isabelle Faust, violin
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello
Jörg Widmann, clarinet
Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano


A. BERG: Four pieces for clarinet and piano, op. 5
M. RAVEL: Sonata for violin and cello
J. WIDMANN: Fantasy for solo clarinet 
E. CARTER: Epigrams for violin, cello and piano
O. MESSIAEN: Quartet for the end of times


Isabelle Faust, Jean-Guihen Queyras, Jörg Widmann and Pierre-Laurent Aimard, virtuosic on their respective instruments and creating inspiration for the younger generations, feature in one of chamber music’s most important events of the 2019-20 season, with a performance of the Quartet for the End of Time by Olivier Messiaen.

This inauguration of avant-garde music occurred in a Görlitz prison with the premiere of Messiaen’s Quartet for the end of Time in front of a few hundred inmates who, like him, had been held by the Nazi regime. The work was composed for an unusual quartet combination -clarinet, violin, cello and piano- under the protection of a regime official, who provided the werewithal and the space, in addition to the necessary concentration and time for Messiaen to devote himself fully to the work. Once the Quartet was finished, he wrote in the score the inscription "there shall be no more time", a phrase that would extend over all his musical compositions.

A genuine dream team at the Palau de la Música Catalana.

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 3 June 2020
    20:00 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices:from 30 to 45 €
Organized by:Fund.Orfeó Català-Palau de la Música

Other ways to purchase your tickets:


T. 932 957 207

Ticket Office

[email protected]
c/ Palau de la Música, 4-6, 08003 Barcelona

  • Monday to Friday: From 10 am to 2 pm and from 4.30 pm to 8.30 pm.
  • Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays: from 10 am to 1 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for the sale of the day)