COVID-19. Security protocol and preventive measures. MORE INFO

El Concierto de Aranjuez
Pablo Sáinz Villegas & OCM



Note (04/22/2020): Due to the extraordinary measures imposed by the state authorities in containing the virus COVID-19, the Palau de la Música Catalana is forced to close its doors and postpone/cancel upcoming concerts and activities until further notice.

This concert is postponed until March 21, 2021. The same tickets will be valid.

Attention: Those who have bought tickets for this concert and wish to recover the money or redeem it for another concert, can request it from the concert promoter, Orquesta Sinfónica Camera Musicae, by mail [email protected]



Pablo Sáinz Villegas, guitar
Orquestra Simfònica Camera Musicae
Carlos Miguel Prieto, conductor


J. RODRIGO: Concert of Aranjuez
L. VAN BEETHOVEN: Symphony no. 8, op. 93


Good digestion

Rodrigo and Beethoven were very happy with the time they shared with their respective friends since both the concert and the symphony of this programme arose from conversations held in the heat of a good table. Eighty years have passed since the premiere at the Palau de la Música Catalana (1940), the most famous and most interpreted guitar concerto of all time. An completely rounded piece, not only by the ingenuity of Joaquín Rodrigo to ensure that a symphony orchestra does not cover the sound of the guitar in any of its three movements, but also by the imaginative way in which it allows us to perceive some of the senses of the Gardens of Aranjuez : the sound of the birds, the murmur of the water from the fountains and even the perfume of the flowers.

Beethoven referred to this work as “a small symphony”, not because it lacked interest for him but because of its shorter duration. He always spoke of it with great love because it is an extrovert, happy and humorous work that helped him forget the sadness of the difficult relationships with his nephew and his sister-in-law. It does not have slow movement and in the Allegretto scherzando we can hear a good example of that good humor through a rhythmic obstinato that makes reference to the invention that Johann Nepomuk Mälzel was developing and that would come to be called a 'metronome'.

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 14 June 2020
    17:30 h
    Concert Hall
    New date

Production information

Prices:from 38 to 56 €
Organized by:Orquestra Simfònica Camera Musicae