COVID-19. Security protocol and preventive measures. MORE INFO

Cuarteto Quiroga



Note (05/11/2020): Due to the extraordinary measures imposed by the state authorities in containing the virus COVID-19, the Palau de la Música Catalana is forced to close its doors and postpone/cancel upcoming concerts and activities until further notice.

This concert is postponed until March 16, 2021 but there will be a change of program. The same tickets will be valid.

Attention: People who have bought tickets and wish to get a refund or exchange them for another concert of the Foundation, should contact the box office by email at [email protected]

The requests for refund or exchange will be handled as soon as possible. We appreciate your understanding and apologize for any inconvenience caused.



Cuarteto Quiroga
Aitor Hevia, violin I
Cibrán Sierra, violin II
Josep Puchades, viola
Helena Poggio, cello


G. KURTÁG: Officium breve
T. L. DE VICTORIA: Officium defunctorum (arrangement fragments)
C. DE MORALES: Officium defunctorum (arrangement fragments )
L. VAN BEETHOVEN: Quartet núm. 15, en La menor, op. 132


The Quiroga Quartet, 2018 National Music Award winner, is considered one of the most unique and active groups on the international circuit, acclaimed by critics and audiences thanks to its strong personality and bold and invigorating performances.

This season, under the title "Officium", the Quiroga Quartet draws us into the solemnity of the Liturgy for the Dead from different eras: the Officium Defunctorum of the Renaissance, its contemporary translation with Kurtág, and one of the most dramatic and emotional pieces of Beethoven’s latter works, the string Quartet No. 15 in A minor, op. 132.

Tomás Luis de Victoria and Cristóbal de Morales, the most important and advanced composers of the 16th century, together with Francisco Guerrero, composed Officium Defunctorum. These polyphonic compositions, now with arrangements for string quartet, evoke an astonishing solemnity, mysticism, despair and drama, and are considered authentic precursors of the Baroque. Specifically, the Officium Defunctorum of Victoria was composed in memory of Mary of Austria and Portugal. The contemporary manisfestation is provided by György Kurtág and his Officium Breve in memoriam Andreae Szervánszky.

The combination of Baroque masterpieces and contemporary music illustrates the harmony between music composed five hundred years ago and that of today.

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 9 June 2020
    20:00 h
    Concert Hall
    New date

Production information

Prices:25 €
Organized by:Fund.Orfeó Català-Palau de la Música

Other ways to purchase your tickets:


T. 932 957 207

Ticket Office

[email protected]
c/ Palau de la Música, 4-6, 08003 Barcelona

  • Monday to Friday From 10 am to 2 pm and from 4.30 pm to 8.30 pm (Face-to-face, telephone and e-mail) + Saturdays and public holidays from 10 am to 1 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for sale day)