Banda Municipal de Barcelona




Banda Municipal de Barcelona
José Rafael Pascual-Vilaplana, conductor


R. Strauss: Serenade in E flat major, op.7
R. Strauss: Death and Transfiguration, op. 2 (Instrumentation by Lluís Oliva / Adaptation by Pascual-Vilaplana)
R. Strauss: Festmusik der Stadt Wien (Instrumentation by E. Banks & S. Rundel)
F. Cesarini: Alpine Poem


The Banda Municipal de Barcelona will perform at the Palau de la Música on the final stretch of the season to offer a programme with a single theme—the music of Richard Strauss, who shares the spotlight with Swiss composer Franco Cesarini. The conductor of the ensemble, José Rafael Pascual-Vilaplana, will direct iconic works from the German musician’s catalogue, such as the Serenade in E-flat major, the tone poem Death and Transfiguration and Festmusik der Stadt Wien, with the latter two pieces adapted for the band. The programme will be brought to a close with the Alpine Poem that describes the alpine landscape of Cesarini's country of origin.

Special offer

Guided tour (5.30 pm) + Concert (7 pm)

Enjoy a tour to discover the history and construction of the only modernist World Heritage Hall by UNESCO (5.30 pm), and a concert (7 pm)

Special price of € 25.

Buy here

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 7 June 2022
    19:00 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices:20 €
Organized by:Fund.Orfeó Català-Palau de la Música


Other ways to purchase your tickets:


T. 932 957 207

Ticket Office

[email protected]
c/ Palau de la Música, 4-6, 08003 Barcelona

  • Monday to Saturday: from 9 am to 9 pm.
  • Sunday and public holidays: from 9.30 am to 1 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for sale day).


Created by potrace 1.15, written by Peter Selinger 2001-2017