COVID-19. Security protocol and preventive measures. MORE INFO

Arabella Steinbacher, Matthias Goerne & Josep Pons
Europa 1900



Note (04/27/2020): Due to the extraordinary measures imposed by the state authorities in containing the virus COVID-19, the Palau de la Música Catalana is forced to close its doors and postpone/cancel upcoming concerts and activities until further notice.

Due to the unavailability to find a new date, therefore this concert has been cancelled.

Attention: People who have bought tickets and wish to get a refund or exchange them for another concert of the Foundation, should contact the box office by email at [email protected]

The requests for refund or exchange will be handled as soon as possible. We appreciate your understanding and apologize for any inconvenience caused.


Concert included in the Palau 100+ 

Josep Pons


Arabella Steinbacher, violin
Matthias Goerne, baritone
Orquestra Simfònica del Gran Teatre del Liceu
Josep Pons, conductor


F. SCHREKER: Prelude to a drama
A. BERG: Concert for violin "in the memory of an angel"
R. WAGNER: “Goodbye of Wotan” (Die Walküre)
R. STRAUSS: Death and transfiguration


"Europe 1900" focuses on four key composers to understand European classical music at the turn of the century: Franz Schreker, Alban Berg, Richard Wagner and Richard Strauss. With evident prominence of the Germanic countries (Germany, Vienna and the former Austro-Hungarian Empire), we are given an x-ray of the preceding movements that led to an explosive and broad artistic response, from impressionism and musical expressionism to dodecaphonism.

The Violin Concerto, also known by the nickname "In memory of an angel", by Alban Berg is a piece closely linked to the history of the Palau de la Música Catalana. The institution hosted its world premiere in April 1936. This season the violinist Arabella Steinbacher performs this work with the same violin that featured on that long-ago evening.

The great baritone Mathias Goerne, protagonist of the Schubert lieder cycle during the 2018-19 season, brings to life on this occasion one of the most famous characters in operatic history with “Wotan’s Farewell” from Richard Wagner’s The Valkyrie.

The Symphony Orchestra of the Gran Teatre del Liceu will provide the most symphonic contribution to the turn of the century, with the performance of Death and Transfiguration by Richard Strauss, a composer with links to the history of the Palau de la Música Catalana. One of the most outstanding occasions Strauss was involved in occurred in 1908, conducting the Berlin Philharmonic in three consecutive concerts in the modernist hall, with a repertoire that included, among other great symphonic works, this very one: Death and Transfiguration. This is also a good opportunity to showcase part of the work of Franz Schreker, one of the most unknown composers, obscured by Nazism.

In summary, an evening of multiple symbolic and historical connotations for the Palau de la Música Catalana.

Information and tickets

Dates and tickets

  • 24 May 2020
    17:00 h
    Concert Hall

Production information

Prices:from 15 to 60 €
Organized by:Fund.Orfeó Català-Palau de la Música

Other ways to purchase your tickets:


T. 932 957 207

Ticket Office

[email protected]
c/ Palau de la Música, 4-6, 08003 Barcelona

  • Monday to Friday: From 10 am to 2 pm and from 4.30 pm to 8.30 pm.
  • Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays: from 10 am to 1 pm and 2 hours before the concert (for the sale of the day)